Translink Super Cup

BBMS took part in the Translink Super Cup finals on Wednesday. The school were placed 3rd overall in the competition and a great day was had by all the boys.

The Under 17 BBMS team played in the 3rd and 4th place playoff in the Translink Cup. The team was mainly made up of Year 12 students and the boys put in a great team effort against a more physical Laurellhill College team. There were excellent performances from Jake, Justin and Aaryn. Joshua put the boys 1-0 up in the first half after some good counter-attacking play. Against the run a play, Laurellhill nearly sneaked an equaliser before half time. With a huge second half effort the lads hung on for a deserved 1-0 win and 3 place in the senior competition.

The Under 15 BBMS team took a commanding lead in the first half of their final with goals courtesy of Billy-Joe McQuiston, Jodee Galashan and Brodie Spencer. The conditions deteriorated in the 2nd half with the wind playing a major factor in OLSPK's unexpected comeback. This led to a dramatic penalty shoot out to decide matters. All of the first 5 takers scored from both teams to force the dreaded sudden death scenario. OLSPK missed their first sudden death penalty to give Boys' Model the opportunity to secure victory. Jack Kinner bravely stepped up and coolly slotted home from 12 yards to ensure that Boys' Model were the innagural winners of the Translink cup at Year 11. Congratulations to all the squad on a magnificent result and hopefully they can secure a prestigious double with a Belfast cup victory later in the season. #WATM

The Under 13 BBMS team competed in the 5th and 6th place playoff in the Translink Cup against Holy Cross College. The BBMS team controlled the game from start to finish, with impressive performances from Carter Rankin, Jack Johnson and Adam Patterson. Matthew Tyrie ensured BBMS kept their lead when he was required, to end the tournament with an excellent result, ensuring their 5th place finish in the tournament

Goals scored by Jay Collins, Reece Lyttle, Stephen McDermott, Owen McClelland and Marcus Thompson.